Heaven and Water Parks

It’s harder to say goodbye to summer this year. I resent school starting so early. I resent all the many storms that have robbed me of my pool time. I count the summers I wasted on poor body image and moping around the house and I just want to go back in time and kick me in the butt.

I actually used to dream of jumping into a huge clear body of water and start to swim, only to wake up and realize I hadn’t been in a bathing suit for 20 years. Can you believe that? I let a small opinion of myself and FEAR of what others would think take something that important away from me.

THEN from 2003 to 2005 I lost 10 people I loved and cared about.  They ranged in age from 2 to 70-something.  All kinds of diseases and accidents happened. It was shocking, heart-shattering, traumatic… but something good came out of it, too. I learned to use my summers more wisely. If I wanted to honor those who went too soon, I sure wasn’t gonna be stopped by cellulite or fear.  Did you know you can still do things when you’re scared to do them? ha ha  Well, it’s possible. Otherwise there would be no need for courage.

Since I have asthma and Fibromyalgia, summertime is the ONLY time I feel healthy and ready to GO. Sunshine helps immensely. All the exercise I get in the water is healing. Sitting by the pool listening to people laughing, splashing, having fun…the soothing sound of the fountains.  Ah, the wonderful smells of chlorine and sunscreen. My favorite perfumes! 🙂

If I were rich, I’d build an indoor beach like the one they have in Japan. I’d build my house on that beach. And I’d live happily ever after, wagging my mermaid tale till the end of time.

I’m a grandma now. I wonder how many summers I have left here on Earth. If God truly does prepare a place for each of us in heaven, I hope mine is a water park. 😀 

Image

Leave a Reply

