Toddler Beds and Minivans

 

Image

My credit could use some work and I don’t have time to fix it before the need for a minivan becomes an emergency. We will add to our group my three year old grandson, Jesse, in a few weeks. Already Xavier, the oldest, is crammed between two car seats in my Hyundai Sonata. He’s such a trooper!

Image

Today I’ve been talking to different car lots that do “guaranteed financing.” It’s not exactly a “buy here pay here” thing, and I hope I don’t have to go that route again. I have an appointment with two places this afternoon, and praying like mad that I get something suitable with affordable payments. Money is tight with all these mouths to feed and me on disability.

You know what’s strange about having all these grandchildren to raise is that, when I was a little girl, I dreamed of taking care of orphans. I think I watched too many Shirley Temple movies. (If you don’t know who that is, I have one word for you: Google. Ha ha). 🙂 Watching her being orphaned, mistreated and unloved gave me such a hunger in my heart to reach out to those like her. I just never dreamed that the little ones would be my own flesh and blood.

So, here we go buying toddler beds and minivans, signing kids up for soccer, rising early on a Saturday morning for practice, staying in to play Candy Land when my peers are having coffee with the girls or on a cruise someplace. Realizing that the great song I’ve been singing all day isn’t from the top 40 on the countdown, but is actually from the preschool show, Bubble Guppies. I wouldn’t trade it. I can’t think of anything more important to do with my life. 

YET, right now I wish Keidon would stop fussing and let me type my blog and fold the laundry. Showering is such a hassle. I have decided to take both babies into the bathroom, one in a little chair with some books and one in his car seat. The bathroom is the size of a small closet, so this will be fun for all.

Image

Is it harder to be a grandma raising children than it is being a mother? YES! I’m not ancient, but I do tire more easily. I had dreams of what I would do as a grandparent. Write, travel, visit with the kids, write. Take lots of pics. Swim. Write. Visit the kids. NO, I am NOT complaining. I just think a good way to make God laugh is to make plans. Isn’t that a famous quote, in fact?

There is much more adventure, surprise and JOY in this life. The cute, loving things they do tickle me and warm my heart. All the slobbery kisses and hugs…watching them explore, learn, and grow. Everything is new to me, too. All the things I could take or leave, that kind of left me numb since I had experienced them for so many years. I have a fresh view and appreciation for these things. Fireworks, The Wizard of Oz. The ducks down by the river. All of it met with such elation by these beautiful babies of mine. 

Ah! Keidon! Stop fussing! GEEEZ. 😀 sigh And on that note, this blog is coming to a close.

Leave a Reply

